News story

AEM takes over CONEXPO-CON/AGG management

Thursday, 18 November 2004 ( #184 ) - LAS VEGAS, NV, United States
In anticipation of a successful 2005 CONEXPO-CON/AGG, the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) will take over control of the event and its management. The International Concrete and Aggregates Group (ICAG) and its owning associations - National Ready Mixed Concrete Association (NRMCA) and National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) - would continue as principal sponsors, a statement said. CONEXPO-CON/AGG is the evolution of two industry trade shows first held in the early 1900s. AEM owns the CONEXPO construction machinery exposition, first held in 1908. ICAG owns CON/AGG, targets construction materials and was first staged in the early 1920s. The two shows joined forces to hold the first CONEXPO-CON/AGG in 1996. The exposition is held every three years. Under the agreement, approved on November 9, CONEXPO-CON/AGG will be produced every three years until 2020. The event is the largest of its kind in the western hemisphere, and the last show, held in 2002, was number one of all industry shows held in the US that year. CONEXPO-CON/AGG 2005 is expected to attract more than 100,000 attendees and use 1.85 million net square feet of exhibition space. There would be no interruption of service in the planning and operation of the CONEXPO-CON/AGG 2005, to be held March 15-19, 2005 in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, a statement said. The new organising structure would commence on May 31, 2005, and operations would be conducted from the Milwaukee headquarters of AEM. "On behalf of NRMCA, NSSGA and the ICAG negotiating committee, we are pleased to enter into this very important agreement, whose spirit and intent has always been focused on benefiting the industry," said Brenton Cook, ICAG negotiation chairman. "AEM is proud of the confidence shown by our show partners. We accept their trust and confidence in a spirit of continuing promotion for the wellbeing of our entire industry," said Charles Stamp, AEM chairman.